Current Positions:

Wilfred R. and Ann Lee Konneker Distinguished Professor Emeritus of Physics, Washington University in St. Louis
International Professor of Physics, University of Heidelberg
Visiting Professor of Applied Mathematics and Mathematical Physics, Imperial College, London
Visiting Professor and Fellow, Physics Department, King's College, London
Alexander von Humboldt Fellow

Personal Data:

Married; 2 children


A.B. - Cornell University, 1964
(summa cum laude and with Distinction in All Subjects;
Dean's list all eight terms; Phi Beta Kappa; Phi Kappa Phi;
New York State Regents Science Scholarship; Telluride Scholar)
A.M. - Harvard University, 1965, Physics
Ph.D. - Harvard University, 1969, Physics


Postdoctoral Fellow, Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton, 1969-1970
Assistant Professor, M.I.T., 1970-1973
Associate Professor, M.I.T., 1973-1977
Visiting Fellow, Imperial College, London, 1974
Visiting Professor, Imperial College, London, 1986-1987
Visiting Professor, Technion, Haifa, Israel, fall term, 1995
Visiting Professor, Imperial College, London, 1995-1996
Visiting Professor, Imperial College, London, 2003-2004
Professor of Physics, Washington University, 1977 to present
Scientific Consultant, Los Alamos National Laboratory, 1979-present
Visiting Professor, Mathematics Department, Imperial College, London, 2006-2011
Joint Professor of Physics, University of Heidelberg, 2008-2012
Visiting Professor, King's College, London, 2011 to present
International Professor of Physics, University of Heidelberg, 2012-present
Visiting Professor, Department of Mathematical Sciences, City University London, 2013-2015


NSF Predoctoral Fellow, 1964-1969
Woodrow Wilson Fellow, 1964-1965
Sloan Foundation Fellowship, 1972-1977
Burlington Northern Foundation Faculty Achievement Award, 1985
M.I.T. Graduate Student Council Teaching Award, 1976
Washington University Gargoyle Award (Undergraduate Teaching Award) 1983
Fulbright Fellowship to United Kingdom, 1995-1996
Particle Physics and Astronomy Research Council (UK) Fellowship, 1996
Lady Davis Fellowship to Israel, 1995-1996
Rockefeller Foundation Award to Visit Bellagio Study and Conference Center, Italy, 1999
Graduate Student Council Mentoring Award, 2000
Fellows Award, Academy of Science of St. Louis, 2002
Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council (UK) Fellowship, 2003-2004
John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation Fellowship, 2003-2004
Ulam Fellowship, Los Alamos National Laboratory, 2006-2007
Compton Faculty Achievement Award, Washington University, 2007
Wilfred R. and Ann Lee Konneker Distinguished Professor of Physics, 2007
Leverhulme Foundation (UK) Fellowship, 2011-2012
Associate Member, Higgs Centre, University of Edinburgh, 2012-present
International Travel Grant, Royal Society, U.K. (with Prof. S. Sarkar), 2012-2014
Dannie Heineman Prize for Mathematical Physics, 2017
Alexander von Humboldt research award, 2019

Professional Societies:

American Physical Society (Elected a Fellow, 1978)
Academy of Science of St. Louis (Elected a Fellow, 2002)
Institute of Physics, UK (Elected a Fellow, 2004)

Departmental Committee:

Graduate Student Selection Committee
Departmental Steering Committee
Departmental Colloquium Organizer

University Committees:

Ombudsman for the School of Arts and Sciences
Academic Integrity Committee
Chair, Compton Fellowship Selection Committee
Coach for Putnam Mathematical Competition
Honorary Degree Committee
Search Committee to Select a Dean for the Engineering School
Twice Elected member: Advisory Committee on Tenure, Promotion, and Personnel
Elected member: Senate Council
Elected member: Review Committee on Faculty Personnel Procedures

National Panels:

Editor-in-Chief (beginning 2004) - Journal of Physics A: Mathematical and General
Editorial Board - Journal of Physics A: Mathematical and General
Editorial Board - Advances in Applied Mathematics
Editorial Board - Journal of Mathematical Physics
Editor - American Institute of Physics Series on Computational and Mathematical Physics
External Advisory Committee Member - Center for Theoretical Studies of Physical Systems, Clark Atlanta University
Vice Chair and Chair, Selection Committee for the Dannie Heineman Prize of the American Physical Society (2003 and 2004)
Board Member, Rockefeller Foundation Bellagio Study and Conference Center (2000-present)
Board of Trustees, Association of Members of the Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton (2003-present)


``Advanced Mathematical Methods for Scientists and Engineers''
Coauthored with S.A. Orszag, Originally published by McGraw-Hill, 1978
Currently published by Springer

``PT Symmetry in Quantum and Classical Physics''
With contributions from P. E. Dorey, C. Dunning, A. Fring, D. W. Hook, H. F. Jones, S. Kuzhel, G. Levai, and R. Tateo
Published by World Scientific, 2019

Research Grants:

Simons Foundation Grant, 2021-present
U.K. Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council, 2021-present
Alexander von Humboldt Foundation, 2019-present
U.S. Department of Energy (principal investigator), 1977-2019
U.S. National Science Foundation, 1970-1977